

Badji Mokhtar Annaba University Faculty of Law and Political Science



Brief History of the Faculty

The faculty of Law and Political Sciences at Badji Mokhtar Annaba University is one of the most prestigious faculties. It was established in 1975 and it was known as the Institute of Legal and Administrative Sciences. Later, it came to be called the Faculty of Law. However, In the line with the new system of L.M.D and the field of training (D.S.P) and pursuant to the executive decree No. 84-2014 dated on august 18th 1984, it came to be officially called the Faculty of Law and Political Science.

By the adoption of new system of training L.M.D, the faculty had known different changes and developments through several offers of training and specialties at both the first cycle (License) and second cycle (Master). In this respect, new departments were created which are the Department of Public Law, Private Law and the Department Political Sciences in addition to the post graduation training which includes Magister, Doctorate School and Doctorate 3rd Cycle.

In terms of infrastructure, the faculty has numerous administrative and pedagogical infrastructures in addition to qualified human resources. It produces periodically significant researches through its Labs and research projects.

Faculty Tasks:

- Helping the students to acquire academic skills using modern scientific curricula and methods.
- Training the practitioners with competence in the field of law and political sciences.
- Ensuring good training for the students to meet the needs of the national labor market.
- Harnessing the university in serving the Millennium Development Goals.

Statistics:

Number of students:

Cycle	Number of students
1 st cycle License	3063
2nd cycle License	980
3 rd cycle	198
Total	4241

Number of Academic Staff:

Rank	Department of Public	Department of Private Law	Department of Political Sciences	Total
	Law			
Professor	07	11	05	23
Lecturer A	26	20	13	59
Lecturer B	15	14	07	36
Assistant A	09	13	09	31
Associate		01		01
Total	54	53	34	150

Infrastructure:

	Capacity	Number	Total
	(A)	(B)	(A) * (B)
Amphitheaters	272	6	1632
Lecture hall	80	6	480
Tutorials	30	65	1950
Auditorium	500	1	500
Computer room	60	1	60
Court room	30	1	30
Reading room	250	2	500
Multi sports hall	10	1	10
Magister room	20	2	40
Teachers room	30	1	30
Teachers offices	4	30	120
Administrative	3	62	186
offices			
Lab of languages	25	1	25

